Happy New Year? Not for some…

The following is being posted here in the hope that all who read this heartbreaking letter will be moved, on this Xmas Day, to send politely worded messages to the Embassy of Israel in London, and to the UK Prime Minister,  MPs and MSPs, demanding that the destruction of Palestinian homes and livelihoods be stopped – NOW!
Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 12.24.18
“Greetings
“I hope  you are doing well and I wish life can go without pains. When pain source is natural; or it  is the God well then it is acceptable. But when pain is of a human source and made by  a tyranny who enjoys to see you suffering; then it is very painful. Three days ago the settlers attacked my land which I cultivated with trees.  After the construction of the wall in 2002 and the massive damage to the land and the thousands of trees uprooted by the wall; I made a promise to myself to grow a new 1000 trees in 10 years. Yes, I did that and I finished them  even more last year. Some of them are now 10 years old and other are baby trees  just one-year old.
“This pleasure did not continue because three days ago the settlers of Zuim attacked my land and forced  my family by guns to leave the land. We haven’t slept since three days and we tried to contact the local authorities to do something, but no real step to stop this madness. My family  is afraid that Zufim settlers over night attack the land and uproot my trees, uproot our dream, uproot 470 citrus trees in this piece of land.
“Today the settlers came again and warned my family from staying inside the land. These settlers  were armed with guns, blunder, strut  and acted as mad dogs.
“I have been working all my life in this piece of land. Since I was 5-years old, I  used to go with my parents  and grow wheat and parley in this land. This land enabled me to live and go to school. This land is my dignity and identity. This land is part of my soul and body. I can’t imagine that settlers will destroy it in one night.
“I am afraid that the story of land  which I heard from my father about our land destroyed in 1948 is going to happen again as live story to my children. I  am afraid that my family will not enjoy the Christmas holidays or dream of a happy new year.
“I don’t know what we should do to stop killing the trees and the dreams.
“All my family best wishes to you
“Love and hope
“Lanas and Abdul-Latif”
Abdul-Latif Mohammad Khalid
Hydrological Engineer
Project Manager
Palestinian Hydrology Group
www DOT phg DOT org • info AT phg DOT org
[With thanks to Clarence Musgrave and Liam Griffin for forwarding the above]
About Oban Concern for Palestine

. . . supporting people in Palestine and Israel who oppose the occupation of the West Bank and Gaza. Oban Concern for Palestine are a group of Argyll residents who share an interest in Palestine, a friendship with its people and a deep concern for their welfare. And, for the sake of Israel, we want to encourage the government of Israel to comply with international law. Oban Concern for Palestine believe that the oppression of the Palestinian people is a grave wrong, that the government of Israel is in violation of international law, and that we have a duty to speak up and do what we can to bring it to an end. We welcome new members and supporters. For more information, please contact obanconcern4palestine AT gmail DOT com • +44 7747 300 062 • Oban Concern for Palestine, c/o Stronchriach, Rowan Road, Oban, Argyll, PA34 5TY, UK
This entry was posted in News and Events, News Archive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

